THE JOURNEY SO FAR

25 weeks and some days today..

I have just been awakened  from a yummy nap on the sofa by my sweetheart of a husband because I needed to blog.. I am tired ,my brain feels like it has been replaced by cotton wool .I am doing this because I made a promise to myself and to him that I was going to blog as much as I possibly can.

So here we are, the first topic that popped into my head as I looked up to the heavens for inspiration was the roller coaster symptoms that I have experienced in the last six months of pregnancy.

I will be the first to say pregnancy is not what I expected, its hard. I am now convinced that God strikes women with amnesia , we completely forget how difficult the last pregnancy was and that is why we continue to bear children. True story

So let me begin my list.

1. BUCKET LOAD OF TEARS 

Where do they come from? Seriously? Hormones they say. Your whole body is out of whack and your tear ducts will repeatedly release tears for the silliest of reasons. I cry everyday, Hubby sorry its not you honestly its ME!

hormonal_woman_tears_crying_upset_health_advice_handbag

2.HAIRY HARRY

I have pregnancy apps on my phone that help to keep track of my progress and in the earlier weeks of my second trimester I got a reminder that hair would begin to grow everywhere. I laughed it off.; and then One day I had hair on my chin. Eeeeeeeeeeeeeek! Just one long curly strand seemed to pop up from nowhere. My husband couldn’t stop laughing eventually he plucked it off for me (fun for him) and I spent the rest of the week using every mirror I came across to glance at my face to see if there were hairs sprouting .

hairy-women-s1e1-20090518173848_625x352

Thankfully it never grew back . The hair on my head is thicker (I’m happy about that), and my legs are hairier too but who cares ..All part of the process, right?

3. NAUSEA

I have been lucky not to experience a lot of this, and when I do it comes in waves. I chew gum or suck on a sweet and I am good to go

lollipops

4.FOOD AVERSIONS

Normally, i love milk suddenly, I cant stand it anymore it goes right through me. I love spicy foods and I remember once having a craving for Ethiopian food. I had some one sunny afternoon and later that night at 3am woke up to throw up uncontrollably. Yap this baby decides what I eat and don’t eat. Bossy little one !

no milk

5. FIBROID PAINS

I found out after I got pregnant that I had a fibroid, after a couple of ultrasounds it was discovered that I had four. Those little monsters make it hard to enjoy my pregnancy and have caused me to experience painful cramps and back pain.

My doctor says that the pain will increase as the baby continues to grow but I am remaining positive and hoping and praying for less of that. Only treatment I have received during pregnancy is to stay on bed-rest and take mild painkillers. I have missed days of work but I am thankful I have gotten this far. This too shall pass.

6.BIG FOOT ALERT

I have heard that most women experience swelling of their feet towards the end of their pregnancy. Well, everyone is different. Mine have recently began swelling and so most of my shoes don’t fit anymore. What has worked for me so far to ease the discomfort to elevate my feet as I sit at the office and also to wear open shoes that allow my feet to breathe. The upside to this is that I get to receive regular foot rubs from the Mr.

big foot

So far thats all I can think of. I will continue to talk about my experiences as the EDD approaches.

Yes ! I finished my second post!

PS: How could i forget this symptom . There are different terms for it , baby brain, pregnancy brain etc. I have become extremely forgetful and slow and find it hard to even do simple tasks that came easily to me before.

woman-stressed

Wow. You see creating a human is no easy task. Much respect to all the mothers out there!

12 responses

  1. Soni

    Nicely done Karimi. Y’all are in my prayers.

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 7:05 am

    • Soni!!! i have missed you! look for us woie thank you 🙂

      Like

      August 14, 2015 at 8:02 am

  2. Sorry about the fibroids pain… I also had 2 fibroids…and the pain could be felt at the tip of my heel when I walked!
    Pregnancy brain! so true! I think it evolves to baby brain! I still have the symptoms!
    3 months to go! yey!

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 7:40 am

    • oh wow i hear you on the pain as you walk its not fun !but look you have a bundle of joy out of that experience cant wait 🙂 hahaha so ihave baby brain to look forward to willcome for survival tips .

      Like

      August 14, 2015 at 8:04 am

  3. I love how you write. Clearly every pregnancy is unique 🙂 You’re almost there! 🙂

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 7:44 am

    • ditto that ma! Im glad im surrounded by bloggers like you who remind me to put my thoughts down. Thanks for the support 🙂

      Like

      August 14, 2015 at 7:59 am

  4. Anne Kimani

    Good work Karimi. No matter the pain and discomfort, I believe it is totally worth it. I can’t wait to get there. I have a fibroid too and I know it can be so uncomfortable with or without pregnancy. Keep up the good work.

    Like

    August 13, 2015 at 2:31 pm

    • Thank you Anne, even with the fibroids im so grateful for this gift. I know God will give me the strength and grace to finish well.Im sorry about your discomfort hoping for the best for you when the time comes 🙂

      Like

      August 14, 2015 at 8:01 am

  5. Moe

    Hugs Karimi, you est believe it will be worth it. When you finally hold that God’s gift to you in yr arms, you shall forget all else. Blessings and I’ve said a prayer for you and baby.

    Like

    August 17, 2015 at 6:41 am

  6. Eunice

    You are lucky with the nausea bit. I actually lost weight my first trim coz of the nausea. And I don’t get why they call it morning sickness… It is all day sickness!!!

    Like

    August 17, 2015 at 5:49 pm

    • Woie pole to hear that and yes i have hard that comment before no such thing as morning sickness!

      Like

      August 17, 2015 at 6:40 pm

  7. Hey,
    Really inspiring. Please talk more on the fibroid. I am carrying 4 and I go through some painful periods. Now am even scared that the pain doesn’t go during pregnancy.

    Like

    August 18, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Leave a Reply

