THE JOURNEY SO FAR (PART TWO)

Rere pic7

Oh wow! The response to my previous post has been overwhelming. Thank you all for taking time to read , comment and share your own experiences. Its encouraging to know that there are others like me who have walked this path before .That means I can do it too! Game face on.

I missed out on work today , not feeling well the fibroids were doing their usual and my feet are swollen but my spirits are up. So as I get some rest i will share with you the remaining ‘symptoms ‘ that I have experienced.

1. Food Cravings

Rere pic

Sometimes I wake up and I want , NAY , NEED to eat a combination of different things. I will have a craving for Fanta Passion, boiled maize, Tropical ice lollies (Specifically the Igloo ones, SPECIFICALLY) ,fried eggs, Mc Frys chips and chicken, mangoes and nduma. Yes my brain cells assail me with all those cravings all, at once! Hilarious really ,crazy even. Of course most of the things i crave aren’t always healthy so my husband and i have an agreement that he needs to ensure that when i become that crazy person demanding for junk food ,he gives me a banana or grapes or an apple instead. Healthy options are the only ones around the house good for me and for baby too. I get to cheat at least once a week, and on that day CHIPS are always my food of choice .

 2. Hunger pangs

Rere pic2

You have no idea how difficult it is to be pregnant and hungry. I kid you not when that woman is hungry, stop what you are doing and get her something to eat NOW! When I am hungry it feels like an ache ,like the world is ending, i even get a little dizzy .It is no joke. Some great advice i got from my sisters who are both mothers is to ALWAYS have snacks in the car . Add a bottle of water in that bag and you will always be safe even in those mind numbing traffic jams.

3. Sense of smell

Rere pic3

Since I got pregnant sniffer dogs have nothing on me, my husband is always joking I should be hired by a security company to sniff for illegal items at the airport. HA! good one George.

This doesn’t always work to my advantage if I am around people with strong colognes or if someone is eating smelly food. Dont take it personally if I gag around you okay? Hormones are to blame .

4. Mood swings

Rere pic4

In my last post I talked about the never ending tears, I didn’t talk about the mood swings. This part isn’t fun. One minute I am happy ,next hour I am sad and cranky. For the people around me its difficult for them to understand. I expected that my husband should just understand , I am pregnant after all. Poor guy , we had plenty of nasty arguments in the early months of pregnancy .I had to be reminded that he is not God, he cannot read my mind, Communication is key (did i just say that?) cliché I know but it is a life saver for any marriage. So all I have to do is say , “Babe today I am sad please be extra sensitive with me today” . Works for us.

5. Anxiety

Rere pic5

As the EDD draws closer I have experienced moments of anxiety because .. I have not started shopping yet. I get these questions everyday, have you bought a bed? Have you shopped for clothes? Have you hired a house help yet? The questions are endless! I know they mean well but the answer to those questions is no. I had began to think there was something wrong with me that maybe I wasn’t fit to be a mother because I don’t have it all planned out yet. Of course we dont expect all those baby necessities to drop like manna from heaven. We have a plan, team Kagwe is on it so don’t worry the baby won’t sleep on the floor. The list has been written and I am confident that all will be ready by that day. So anxiety is not welcome in this home, BYE!

6. Baby movements

Rere pic6

Lastly, my most favorite thing in this journey so far. Feeling the baby move, kick and even hiccup. There is life inside of me, what a miracle. I will be honest that the first time I felt the baby move it wasn’t as magical as I had expected. I was dead asleep and was awakened by strange sharp movements in my belly. I panicked and sat upright in bed , my mind was racing. Am I dying? What was that? What did I eat! Oh my God!

It took me a couple of minutes for me to realise what was happening. You are pregnant dummy thats your baby. hahahaha. I am used to it now and every time the baby moves I thank God for this this beautiful miracle of life.

7 responses

  1. My Cravings- Tropical MINTS…I could go through a whole packet in like 4 days! My hubby would joke that the baby would be born mint flavored…lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    August 14, 2015 at 10:55 am

  2. Joan

    Congratulations Rere… I think the easiest way to deal with the anxiety is to just smile and wave.. Everything will happen in its time. I can bet that most of the ones who will ask those questions are not new moms and so their experience is what prompts them. Take it easy and learn as you go.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 14, 2015 at 11:20 am

  3. Eunice

    LOL. Yes, the baby movements are the best part if pregnancy… Enjoy the journey. May the Lord guide and protect you and the little one.

    Like

    August 17, 2015 at 5:52 pm

  4. Maureen

    Hahahaha was giving you hi-5s as i was reading your cravings…igloo ice lollys are God sent🙌🙌🙌…even for us not pregnant lol. Love the blog. I am with George, keep writing and congrats again 😄😄

    Like

    August 18, 2015 at 6:44 am

  5. You made me remember my son hiccuping when I was pregnant. I had forgotten that. I used to find it so fascinating. The first time I saw him (after labor) it was magical. My first words “It’s a baby”. It was mind boggling that there was a baby growing inside me. Enjoy every minute of it.

    Like

    August 19, 2015 at 7:09 pm

  6. Lizzyruku94@gmail.com

    👌👍
    A masterpiece
    Really encouraging.
    Say hey to the Lil princess loads of kisses
    😘😘😘

    Like

    December 11, 2015 at 6:58 am

Leave a Reply

