WHILE I WAS AWAY

Hello friends ! It has been a while since I sat down to blog . Three weeks to be exact. I feel like life took over and I became numb and got overwhelmed and unable to put my thoughts down . I have the kind of temperament where my personality sinks into itself when hit by life’s storms. I check into self-preservation mode and just go through the everyday motions to get through each day.

shutterstock_249461866

My pregnancy has not been an easy one, I have gone through a roller coaster of emotions and been on bed rest enough times to last me a life time. But like I am always told pregnancy is not an illness , it’s a natural process. Women before me have survived it, and the ones after me will continue to do the same. So I have to plough through this experience, keep on moving, and wait to experience the miracle of child birth when I finally meet this little human living inside my belly.

shutterstock_135578057

Incase you haven’t caught this from my previous posts, I have 5 fibroids . In the past three weeks, I went through a process called fibroid degeneration. If you google the term this is the first hit that comes up;

The following is excerpted from: http://www.fibroidsecondopinion.com/fibroid-symptoms/

‘’Fibroids are living tissue, and need blood and oxygen to survive. If a fibroid grows quickly, blood vessels feeding the fibroid may not be able to grow fast enough to supply the new tissue with enough blood and oxygen. If this happens, the fibroid undergoes a process called degeneration, or cell death. As the cells in the fibroid die, chemical substances are released that cause pain and swelling in the uterus. This pain may be severe but is not usually associated with any serious problems. If these chemical substances from a degenerating fibroid reach the bloodstream, they may cause a low fever. As some of the fibroid dies, the blood supply to the rest of the fibroid will be enough to keep it alive and healthy. At this point, the pain will go away. This process may take a few weeks. When pain develops in a woman with fibroids, examination by a physician is important to help figure out the source of the problem.

shutterstock_128156000

If you have a degenerating fibroid, a heating pad on your abdomen will be comforting, and pain medication should provide relief for a few days or weeks until the pain begins to subside. In rare instances, a fibroid on a stalk (pedunculated fibroid) can twist around on the stalk so that no blood can get through the stalk to the fibroid. If that happens, the entire fibroid begins to die, and the pain becomes very severe and surgery is usually necessary to remove the dying fibroid..’’

shutterstock_82496344

So that is what I went through. I experienced severe pain for days on end. In fact the first night I experienced it I was sure I was going through pre-term labor! I managed to wait until morning where I was taken to the hospital for an immediate checkup. I was worried that the baby was coming too early. I only relaxed once I saw the ultra sound and our baby was fine ,and the cervix was closed. Eventually the doctor I saw was able to diagnose the source of the pain and sent me home with pain medication and instructions to spend two weeks on bed rest. . This was a good thing because the nights were long as I tossed and turned and looked for an escape from this pain . The painkillers couldn’t get rid of it completely as they were mild for the sake of the baby. So I would spend the night tossing and turning , and sleeping during the day. Went back to work a week ago and the pains although still there are not as mind numbing as before.

shutterstock_138825164

I will end this post on a positive note. The journey is almost over , 10 weeks to go! Wuhooooooo  

As much as I still have mini panic attacks when I realize we aren’t done shopping for this baby,

the excitement I feel when I imagine meeting this child surpasses any anxiety or stress or even pain I have experienced in the last few months.

It is well .

Until the next post.

shutterstock_100296758

2 responses

  1. Your blog is such a breathe of fresh, wonderful reminder that I am not alone in this. Glad to see how God is using you.
    Really sorry for the pain, fibroid pain can be quite something but you have overcome.

    Like

    September 17, 2015 at 6:32 am

    • Thank you Njoki and yes you are not alone! your compliments have put a huge smile on my face .Fibroids or not i have faith this journey will end well.

      Like

      September 19, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Leave a Reply

