When did I get so big?!

Yes that’s the question that shouts loudest in my mind every time I catch a glimpse of my reflection in a mirror or a passing window at a shop somewhere. I kid you not my reflection has caused me to to feel momentary shock.

woman-stressed

I remember with nostalgia earlier in my pregnancy when I could still wear anything as my baby bump wasn’t huge enough to cause major changes in my wardrobe. Well right now there is definitely no doubt that I’m pregnant and about to bring forth a little one!

shutterstock_250751332

My third trimester is well underway and I’m glad to say I’m more excited than scared. Let me share a little bit about what I have been experiencing lately.
1. Swollen feet

My feet had began to swell mid second trimester but lately it has gotten to the point where I wear shoes that fit well in the morning and by the time I am leaving the office I change to slippers because nothing else will fit.I have began wearing my hubby’s sandals and comfie crocs to the office . Yes I have noticed the amused glances at the office as I waddle along the corridors but I am more about comfort than style right now! My feet swell up so much on some days that my hubby has began to affectionately call me the Hulk. Hahaha!! I’d weep if it wasn’t so hysterically funny because thats how I feel ,my body is mu-ta-ting!

shutterstock_274722677

Things that have helped to bring some relief is soaking my feet in a basin of water , getting a foot massage from hubby as he was instructed to do by our midwife (thanks Lucy) also sitting with my feet raised to allow the water retention to flow back into the rest of the body.

2.Blocked ears

I woke up one day and my left ear was completely blocked. I was worried that an insect had crawled in during the night (eeeeeeek) or that my pregnancy hormones were working overtime and was mass producing ear wax. Yes that happens . I have never had so much ear wax in all my life .

shutterstock_126969917

Anyway I officially checked on google and on baby centre and was relieved to find that this was a common symptom experienced during pregnancy. I called my doctor just to be sure and he prescribed some mild antihistamines. They didnt work and eventually I got used to being deaf in one ear and thankfully I woke up one day and I could hear again. It cleared up all on its own.
3.Heart burn

This symptom always strikes in the middle of the night and feels like hot lava crawling up my upper tummy towards my chest . It is very uncomfortable and has caused me to stay up at night.

shutterstock_155681387

The only way I am able to find some slight comfort is to prop up three pillows and sleep almost upright. I don’t want to take any medication for it so I will keep looking for ways to deal with it. I recently read that taking a little apple cider vinegar works like a charm .Will try it soon.
4.Insomnia
Hi mum its only 2am lets wake up and play! Yes thats what Baby Kagwe does on most nights. This baby is a lot like the father , a nocturnal playful creature. I am thankful at least that the baby is active and will eventually get used to being sleep deprived .

shutterstock_280133996

Some days its because I cant find a comfortable position to sleep in .So I end up staring at the ceiling listening to the night sounds, sometimes I pray and talk to God, or I talk to hubby who wakes up after my endless tossing and turning. On most mornings I am a sleep deprived zombie and it does make it hard to be productive in the office but I am taking it a day at a time.
5.Current craving – FRUITS!

I can eat an endless amount of fruits on a daily basis. So when I find time I do stock up on passion fruits, apples,bananas, paw paws and grapes. I finished off three juicy oranges yesterday .Yummmmy! I Am drooling right now just thinking about it.

shutterstock_315403487
So thats the current state of affairs right now, and one of the things that has kept me sane every time I experience a new symptom is attending birth preparation classes at eves mama If you haven’t checked out this page please do here http://on.fb.me/1Mg32Fn and her new You Tube channel http://bit.ly/1N1uo4Y and learn a whole lot on pregnancy ,birth and baby care.

evesmama

I am now 33 weeks and two days. That means 6weeks 5 days left , the countdown continues 🙂

3 responses

  1. He he… Baby Kagwe is near. Psst Apple Cider Vinegar worked for me but short term, just get used to it, eat less spicy and acidic stuff. When the boys came our hair full of head I decided to believe the old wives tale pap!

    Baby waking up at 2am and you being sleep deprived is training for the night shifts you’re about to pull. So take notes, start getting all those gadgets and books you wanted to use cause they come in handy overnight.

    Fruits is a very good craving! Very good! Well done.

    Like

    October 8, 2015 at 2:14 pm

  2. fridarchie

    You’ve come a long way dear, proud of you…

    Liked by 1 person

    October 8, 2015 at 3:07 pm

  3. Wohhhooo Almost there! We thank God for the journey so far. Are the fibroids still an issue?

    Like

    October 8, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Leave a Reply

