Koinonia Education Centre

The past two years have been a journey of self-discovery. As the year 2017 drew to a close I was able to experience moments of total clarity in terms of my goals for the year 2018. My main goal this year is to do more to help others. I do acknowledge that I do not have millions stored away in the bank but I do have ideas that I can share towards projects that are working towards transforming lives. So today I want to share with you the story about a project that is close to my heart.

Koinonia Picture

 

I was raised in a Christian home by parents who have always been active in the church. When we were very young my parents together with Japanese missionaries living in Kenya started a church. They called it Kyuna Christian Fellowship, Loresho.  It didn’t take them long to realise that there was a need for quality education for the children in the neighbouring slums of Kibagare. Koinonia  Education Centre was then established in 2003 with a student population of 13  kindergarten-aged children. The school continued to grow and eventually they had to seek for larger premises to accommodate the growing number of students.

This brought them to their current location at St Stephen’s  ACK  church hall in Redhill off Limuru road.

Koinonia is a purely non-profit organisation that runs solely on donations from well-wishers. It is through these funds that enabled the school to acquire a piece of land in Mai-Mahiu with the hope of releasing themselves from the high costs of rent and finally settling down in their own ‘home’.

DSC_0423

I have watched the school grow over the years, seen the transformation in the kids, seen my parents and the management team toil over the years to ensure that the Koinonia vision continues to succeed and flourish. Finally I have accepted the call in my heart to help out in telling their story   with the hope that you will send your donations towards the project to build a school in Mai Mahiu.

No amount is too little, no amount is too much. Find it in your heart to join this noble cause. I will be happy to provide as much information as you require. In the coming months, I will be sharing ways in which you can participate in fundraising for Koinonia Education Centre.

 

In the meantime check out the links below and read more about the Koinonia story.

 

Home

https://www.facebook.com/KoinoniaEducationCentre/

 

 

 

Leave a comment